By using this website you agree to our policy of using cookies. For more information consult our privacy policy and use of cookies, where you can disable them.

pt fr it es de

Classification of alopecia according to hair loss

Hamilton-Norwood scale - Male Alopecia

This scale classifies baldness into the following types:

  • Type I: Negligible or scarce hair loss in the frontal line.
  • Type II: Hair loss in the temporal area. The hairline begins to recede.
  • Type III: Hair loss, especially in the crown area. It is the minimum level to consider the existence of baldness.
  • Type IV: The hairless area on the crown is enlarged. Hair loss in the frontal area is higher than that of phase III. A hair band clearly separates the two bald areas.
  • Type V: The crown and frontal areas are separated only by a narrow region. Seen from above, the area that still has hair draws the shape of a horseshoe (also in types VI and VII).
  • Type VI: The anterior and posterior areas without hair are united, and the area affected is widened.
  • Type VII: In this stage only a narrow portion of the original hair remains, spread over the ears and meeting at the nape.

male alopecia

Ludwig Scale - Female Alopecia

Female Alopecia Scale - Ludwig System:

  • Type I: It shows a perceptible although diffuse hair loss in the crown.
  • Type II: An increase of hair loss can be seen in the same area.
  • Type III: Includes the hair loss of type I and II, but also the initial hair loss in the fronto-temporal line.
  • Type IV: Shows a continuation of that diffuse loss and fronto-temporal recession.
  • Type V: There is a complete loss of scalp hair that resembles the male baldness pattern.

Types III, IV, and V are very unusual cases and typically happen to menopausal women.

female alopecia